Last year we congratulated the authors of New advances in the laboratory characterization of refractories: testing and modelling for winning the 2018 Alfred W. Allen Award. The authors are: Jacques Poirier, Eric Blond, Emmanuel de Bilbao, Rudy Michel, Antoine Coulon, Jean Gillibert, Michel Boussuge, Yang Zhang, David Ryckelynk, Gilles Dusserre, Thierry Cutard, and Paul Leplay.

In March, Professor Jacques Poirier of Polytech Orléans received the award at the American Ceramic Society's 55th Annual Symposium. EDP Sciences’ publishing editor, Ariana Fuga commented “I am delighted to congratulate Professor Poirier and all the authors once again.”

The Alfred W. Allen Award of the American Ceramic Society was established to “honour the legacy of an educator, technical contributor and supporter of the Refractory Ceramics Division”. The award committee biennially selects the author(s) of the paper which reflects the highest level of technical quality in the refractory ceramics field.

Metallurgical Research & Technology (MRT) is a peer-reviewed bi-monthly journal publishing original high-quality research papers in areas ranging from process metallurgy to metal product properties and applications of ferrous and non-ferrous metals and alloys, including light-metals. To find out more or submit an article, please visit the Metallurgical Research & Technology website.