This year, among the winners of the 2010 Fields Medal, Cédric Villani, director of the Institut Henri Poincaré (IHP), is being awarded for his proofs of nonlinear Landau damping and convergence to equilibrium for the Boltzmann equation.

Yves Meyer, Professor Emeritus at École Normale Supérieure de Cachan, France, has been selected for the 2010 Gauss Prize for fundamental contributions to number theory, operator theory and harmonic analysis, and his pivotal role in the development of wavelets and multiresolution analysis.

We are very pleased to present you the list of articles they both published in our journals, ESAIM: M2AN and ESAIM: COCV:

On a variant of Korn's inequality arising in statistical mechanics
L. Desvillettes, Cédric Villani
ESAIM: COCV 8 (2002) 603-619
DOI: 10.1051/cocv:2002036
[Abstract] [PDF (188.4 KB)]
Conservative forms of Boltzmann's collision operator: Landau revisited
Cédric Villani
M2AN 33 1 (1999) 209-227
DOI: 10.1051/m2an:1999112
[Abstract] [PDF (372.3 KB)]
On the Instantaneous Spreading for the Navier–Stokes System in the Whole Space
Lorenzo Brandolese, Yves Meyer
ESAIM: COCV 8 (2002) 273-285
DOI: 10.1051/cocv:2002021
[Abstract] [PDF (200.2 KB)]