The General Congress of the French Physics Society will be held from 1st to 5th July 2013 in Marseille.

On this occasion, EDP Sciences will be pleased to introduce new models of publication including Open Access during the Symposium on the evolution of scientific publishing. Join us in the session devoted to the “Journey of a publication challenges, criteria and cost” which will be presented by M. Jean-Marc Quilbé, CEO of EDP Sciences Group. You will discover or rediscover our new "Open Access" Portal:

EDP OPEN is an international website with an initial list of "Gold Open Access” journals. This list is intended to grow rapidly. The site also provides access to more than 70,000 scientific articles from subscription-model journals published by EDP Sciences that are either released from embargo constraints, or immediately published in OA ("Open Access Option "). Finally, the site provides access to hundreds of conferences also published in Open Access.

Please join us for this event that brings together every two years all French physicists. It is one of the most important events in France in the field of physics and its interfaces: it offers a special opportunity to show the dynamism of the French scientific community.

The agenda includes 16 plenary conferences led by world-renowned French and foreign experts, 17 more specialized mini symposia supported by divisions of the French Physics Society (SFP), debates, forums and round tables.

For this 22nd edition, among other international personalities are invited:

  • Saul PERLMUTTER (University of Berkeley, California, Nobel Prize for physics 2011)
  • Serge HAROCHE (Administrator of the Collège de France, Nobel Prize for physics 2012)
  • Barbara ROMANOWICZ (Earth and Planetary Science, University of California Berkeley)
  • Rolf HEUER (Director of CERN)
  • Bernard BIGOT (chief Administrator of the French Atomic Energy Commission CEA)

A round table combined with the inaugural opening will open week the Congress week. It will be chaired by Bernard BIGOT and attended by Madam the Minister of higher education and research, Geneviève FIORASO, as well as researchers, and industrialists involved in the energy of the future.